Gumption

Gumption is an interesting word. I rediscovered this word watching the movie The Holiday.

gump·tion [guhmp-shuhn]

noun Informal.

1. initiative; aggressiveness; resourcefulness: With her gumption she’ll make a success of herself.

2. courage; spunk; guts: It takes gumption to quit a high-paying job.

3. common sense; shrewdness.

I have found gumption in my life again. I have taken the initiative in aspects that I wouldn’t have thought I would ever have to. In the past I have failed my “initiative check,” as my friends and I would have said when we are playing D&D. To have the best initiative means that you get to it faster than others. You get the upper hand.

I plan to keep the upper hand for as long as I can.

The scary part is how much I can identify with both of the main female leads in that movie. Now if I just had the money to spend a holiday somewhere far from here. I need it.

Leave a Reply

